Ross Group - Medicinal Chemistry Research - Computer-aided drug design
Home Research Publications Group Positions Commercial Clients Resources


Group Members


Group Photo


November 2013



Team Leader


Dr Ben Ross



PhD Students


Mr Suresh Veliyath


Suresh Veliyath



Ms Hong Chau


Hong Chau



Mr Girdhar Deora



Mr Srinivas Kantham



Mr Eddy Lee





Mr Satish Dighe


Satish Dighe



Mr Srinivas Kantham


Srinivas Kantham



Mr Stephen Chan






Former Group Members


PhD Students



Dr Hemalatha Rajaram

(Graduated 2014)

Mrs Hemalatha Rajaram



Dr Marguerite Kutyla

(Graduated 2013)

Ms Gosia Kutyla



Dr Manoj Kumar Palanivelu

(Graduated 2012)

Mr Manoj Kumar Palanivelu



Dr Venkatesan Moorthy Rao

(Graduated 2012)

Mr Venkatesan Moorthy Rao




Pharmacy Honours Students



Mr Chun Hoa Cho



Ms Jenna Southwell



Mr Jared Miles



Ms Jenny Lee



Ms Kara Marcano


Dr Ben Ross and Ms Kara Marcano

Mr Marco Giuseppin



Ms Annie Wong



Mr Justin Thompson


Mr Justin Thompson



Health Science Honours Students


Mr Eddy Lee



Science Honours Students


Mr Sean Harris




Undergraduate Students


Mr Yang (Kenn) Lu

(2007, BIOL3012 student) 


Ms Sian Patterson

(2006, BIOL3012 student)

 Ms Sian Patterson



Former Associate Group Members


PhD Students


Dr Suria Ramli

(2007-2012, Principal advisor: Professor Ian Gentle)


Ms Suria Ramli


Dr Waleed Hussein

(2006-2009, Principal advisor: Dr Ross McGeary)


Mr Waleed Hussein


Dr Hoang Lam Pham

(2005-2008, Principal advisor: Dr Nigel Davies)


Dr Ben Ross and Dr Hoang Lam Pham



MPhil Student


Ms Suciati

(2006-2008, Principal advisor: Professor Mary Garson)

Ms Suciati


Old Group Photos


May 2011 a


May 2011 b


April 2010


October 2008



Latest News


2 April 2013: Welcome Mr Suresh Veliyath (PhD candidate). Suresh has a masters degree in pharmaceutical chemistry from Rajiv Gandhi University, Bangalore. He worked as a project assistant at the Indian Institute of Science (IISC) Bangalore and as a faculty member at MIPS Hyderabad, before joining the Ross Group. Suresh's PhD project is focused on AD drug discovery.


6 February 2013: Welcome Mr Girdhar Singh Deora (PhD candidate). Giri completed a MPharm from Rajiv Gandhi Technological University, Bhopal in 2009. Prior to joining the Ross Group, Giri worked as a research associate at Rajiv Gandhi Technological University (2010-11) and at Dr Reddy's Institute of Life Sciences, Hyderabad (2011-13). Giri's PhD project is in the field of AD drug discovery.


10 January 2013: Welcome Mr Edward Lee (PhD candidate). Eddy completed a BPharm (2010) and postgraduate honours (2012) degrees at UQ and he was awarded an APA scholarship for his PhD project to develop anti-viral nanoparticles.


1 November 2012: Welcome Mr Satish Dighe (PhD candidate). Satish was awarded an MPharm in 2009 from Pune University, and worked as a research chemist at Zydus-Cadila Healthcare Limited (2009-11; Ahmedabad) and as a research assistant at the Birla Institute of Techology and Science (2011-12; Pilani), before joining the Ross Group. The topic of Satish's PhD project is AD drug discovery.


3 July 2012: Welcome Mr Srinivas Kantham (PhD candidate) who is funded by a prestigious Prime Minister's Australia Asia Incoming Postgraduate Award. For his PhD Srinivas is developing polyphenols as disease-modifying drugs for AD. Previously he worked as a research assistant at the Indian Institute of Chemical Technology (IICT) Hyderabad.



news archive >>





Dr Ben Ross


Courier address:

School of Pharmacy,

The University of Queensland,

20 Cornwall Street,

Woolloongabba, Qld 4102,



Postal address:

School of Pharmacy,

The University of Queensland, Brisbane, Qld 4072, Australia


Phone: +61 7 334 61900

Fax: +61 7 334 61999






This web site was last updated on 16 December 2015. Copyright © 2006-2016 Benjamin P. Ross. Unless stated otherwise, this web site represents only the views of Benjamin P. Ross and not the views of The University of Queensland. Simple site map.